New Fish Identified and “ME”

I will cover the me first. I haven’t been posting at all lately because on the Thursday the 11th 2014 I had a heart attack and was in the VA Hospital for 4 days. One of my stints fell down and it had to be propped up with another stint to hold it in place. I now have (6) six stints in my heart. I never heard of this before. Anyone else out there have more than six? I am not in good shape and have to rest a lot. Enough about “ME”.

I have been trying to identify some of my Cory’s when I bought them from various places they were miss label as another species. This is a common problem with pet shops and suppliers of fish even the wholesalers misidentify them in there haste to get the order out! That’s why I like to go around on a regular basis and check out the LFS  fish and check them out. You can find some odd balls a lot of the time.

Well here goes, these were sold as Corydoras aggazi, but they are actually Corydorus delphax & Corydorus agassizii! The (2) with the brownish stripe behind the head are the C. delphax! It took Planet Catfish to figure this out.

Corydoras unknown

Next is the Black Cory’s I got from Tennessee! They were called Corydoras venezuelanus ” Black Cory’s”, then Corydoras schultzei and now Corydoras ? I’ll let you know when I find out.

Pics 09-20-2014 011

The next batch of Cory’s were also identified by the suppliers as C. raubauti and C. agissizi , C.  rabauti,  &  C.  punctatus. As before I wasn’t sure about the first because they were mixed with (2) C. delphax, as stated above and everytime I when to look at them I was looking at a different species. Also I was confusing C. rabauti with C. zygatus, which everyone does. Well everyone who is not an expert, and lastly C. punctatus, again I was told that’s what it was, so I had planet catfish’s EXPERTS identify them as C. agissizi , C.  rabauti,  &  C.  leucomelas. The later I suspected was C.  leucomelas was just that, but still wasn’t sure, there are so many Corydoras that look alike.
22Pics 08-27-2014 00201-1

17Pics 08-27-2014 00201-1

15Pics 08-27-2014 00201-1

So that’s the Cory delema! I recommend if you are not sure about any catfish species and wan’t to get a definitive ruling on the species name, then contact “PlanetCatfsh.com” there the best.

Leave a comment